top of page

Adapting to Coronavirus Pandemic – Part I



I never had even a fleeting thought that I would live to see a pandemic like the one with the Coronavirus. I am in that “vulnerable” group. I’m 70 years old and have several underlying conditions. I had viral pneumonia before the pandemic. I have not been anywhere in months. Life for me is okay. I am blessed. I have family that lives with me and near me to run errands and see to it that I have the things I need.


I heard a nurse on TV say that the worse thing about the Coronavirus is that it is so sad and lonely. Let that sink in for a minute. My heart goes out to the people that have been affected. The patient and all the people he or she knows and loves. It is terrifying to think that you are dying and have no one with you to hold your hand, kiss your cheek, or just say “I love you”. On the other side, family and friends of the patients with the virus are affected. All people needing care and hospitalization are alone. The family that is not allowed to see their loved one and see with their own eyes that they are doing okay are devastated as well.


We all know that hospitals are understaffed and the nurses are stretched thin to help all of the patients. That is why family will usually elect to stay to help care for their loved one while hospitalized. Part of my own family has been living this horror. My cousin had a stroke and the word from the staff is that he’s not doing well. He and his wife have been married for over 50 years. any Very few nights, if any, spent apart. Again, the pain and suffering on both sides. The loneliness.


Then the funerals that are even more dismal because so few people can be present to lend their support when a family needs it most. Many family won't be able to attend to show their respect and love.


Next, I think about weddings. The money that has been spent. The endless hours of planning. The disappointment of not being able to have everyone attend this most precious event. Not to mention, travel plans that are interrupted. Rooms and flights that have been paid for. Same issue for new babies that have been and will be born during this time.


However, the loss of jobs, money, and not knowing how long this will last takes a lot of joy away from everything. I mean this is real life stuff we are having to deal with. I wonder how brides and grooms are handling this setback. Are they getting married with just the immediate family or postponing until a better time. I'd really like to know.


I wish I was not living in a time like this. I’m sure I have a lot of company that feels the same way. How has it affected you? Please leave a comment and let me know.


Looking back this is a sad blog post. It is a sad time. Part II will be later this


STAY SAFE!

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Notebook and Pen

Writer. Author. Thinker. Storyteller.

OFFICIAL WEBSITE

 

OF AUTHOR

JUDITH B PINKARD

bottom of page