top of page

Time Slips Away



Today, as I sit down to write for my blog, once again I see it has been a very long time since my last post. Immediately the song, “Funny How Time Slips Away” written by Willie Nelson comes to mind. This is a favorite of mine for many reasons, one being that it was sung directly to me by a special friend that sounded exactly like Elvis Presley. However, this song is not the topic of my post.


I have heard elders say, “The older you get the quicker time passes away.” I never understood that until I became the “elder”. It is true. I guess when we are young we have so many “firsts” and exciting times to look forward to that a year seems like an eternity. Things like birthdays, Christmas, dating, dances, ball games, graduation, marriage, buying the first home, and becoming parents.


Looking back, for me, it seems once I had children we weren’t putting up stuff from one birthday or Christmas until it was time to pull it all out again. I thought many times of just leaving it up, but I didn’t want to embarrass my kids with the laziness of it all. Some of my favorite and most peaceful moments are at Christmas, usually alone, late at night drinking a beverage, with the fireplace burning and only the lights of the Christmas tree illuminated. Peace. Serenity. Oh, I regress. Sorry.


So much has happened since my last post. We are at tax time again and I could just “repost” my previous blog about the subject. No change this year and if I’m honest next year will be the same.


Today I want to share with you a few things. First, I still plan to write a sequel to Broken Pieces. I am about ¾ of the way into it, but I’ve hit a snag. It’s not writer’s block. It is me reliving the emotions of a very difficult time in my life. I’m asking that you be patient a little longer.


COVID has been very hard on so many families, even mine. Some have experienced so much sorrow. I have one friend that has lost three very close people in her life during this time of isolation. I think of all the people that died alone, the family that couldn’t be there with them, the burial without having friends and relatives to help hold them up during their grief, and not being able to pay respects to those that died. It has been a tough time.


Just before COVID, I was reunited with a very dear friend. This reunion has been a huge blessing for me. We had been estranged for several years. Both of us had survived and enjoyed a wide variety of experiences during our time apart. My friend is a beautiful woman. She is strong, loyal, and physically attractive. Those qualities serve her well and I appreciate each of them but her greatest quality is her loving heart, sweet spirit, and undying determination to be the best version of herself that she can be. We are on this mission together. I believe we equally contribute to this endeavor. I was not aware of how much I had missed her until she came back into my life. I love you Marilyn.


Then, realizing how much time had “slipped away" from us, we bonded and shared an extreme amount of information in a very short period of time. We continue to talk daily trying to make up for lost time, which we both know is impossible. We are sharing and growing spiritually and emotionally every day.


I document all of these emotions and blessings in my copy of Find Your Peace Journal. I have been pleased with this journal. It is a positive, thought-provoking, and time-efficient way to express my feelings. I believe documenting in writing helps in many ways and also helps us to keep moving forward.


Copies of my journal can be purchased through Amazon.


Until next time…stay safe, be kind, and notice all the beautiful things and people around you.




22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Notebook and Pen

Writer. Author. Thinker. Storyteller.

OFFICIAL WEBSITE

 

OF AUTHOR

JUDITH B PINKARD

bottom of page