top of page

Aging is a Process

Updated: Feb 16, 2022



It happens so fast. One day we are born, we grow into teenagers and young adults, and then we are …old. How did that happen?


It’s a gradual process. So gradual, it slips up on you. In our mind we stay young. At least that has been my experience. Most of the people I have talked to never age past their late 20’s or mid 30’s in their minds. It’s a cruel joke that our mind plays on us. Our body feels the same for many years, but at some point, it just can’t deliver in most cases.

I have repaired parts (knees, shoulders, etc.), and now that repair has run its course, I’m having to “replace things.”


In January, I had a total knee replacement of my right knee. I was well aware that it would be painful and inconvenient. Since I was in so much pain before the surgery, I was willing to take the chance because I knew I should recover from surgery eventually and do fine.

It has been a month post-surgery, and I’m still having to be waited on by caregivers. This frustrates me because I want to be independent. I am dealing with an issue I didn’t even know might be an issue…drop foot. The doctor and therapists hope that it will correct itself once all the nerves “wake up” after being traumatized and swollen. I guess it’s a waiting game. Isn’t life almost always a waiting game? Until then, I will do all I can to speed my recovery along.


Enjoy your youth and your healthy body. It may not last forever. As time goes by, so does our youth.




20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Notebook and Pen

Writer. Author. Thinker. Storyteller.

OFFICIAL WEBSITE

 

OF AUTHOR

JUDITH B PINKARD

bottom of page